Jeanette Powers arrives at OAC

I arrived yesterday under gray skies and light rain and unpacked my things:

one backpack of clothes

one suitcase of work materials

one knapsack of paints and strings

2 kayaks with gear

1 puppy

For me, this residency is a process of cleaving away what’s unnecessary and destroying the dam around the river of my heart’s silence. I throw myself in the water.

Today, I swam with Puppy Moss in the river and watched him literally leaping for joy while I wrote the first lines of poetry in Belle, MO. “I stood up and fell down.”

We sat with the cows and got fly and mosquito bites, we ran with the horse, who seems lonely and playful both. We walked home with the whole pack of OAC dogs. We lay quietly and work in the shade.

received_10208715094772183

Leave a Reply

